SPECIAL BULLETIN

PERMIT RECAP

THERE ARE NO MORE HALF DOME CABLES PERMITS AVAILABLE FOR MAY OR JUNE.

THEY WERE GONE FOR ALL DATES IN 14 MINUTES.

I HOPE MY TIPS HELPED YOU.  CONTINUE TO READ THIS BLOG. I WILL SET UP A THREAD CALLED:

TO GET OR GIVE PERMITS CLICK HERE

57 Responses to “SPECIAL BULLETIN”

  1. andy Says:

    I just ordered some keep banging the site

  2. Olin Hyde Says:

    They went in less than 2 minutes.

  3. andy Says:

    Interesting looking forward into July some of the permits are already taken. Hmmmm.

    • mrhalfdome Says:

      I saw that. Started out that way. I’ll ask my contact. I wonder if people begin the process and it registers their quantity but stops them at the BOOK PERMIT page. Hmmmmm is right. Hackers???

      • Dean Says:

        Hi Rick

        Any word on July permits being booked? I’ll be trying for the August raffle so it would be interesting to find out why some of July appeared to be booked up already. Maybe just those gremlins?

  4. roberto rodriguez Says:

    Keep trying! I’ts 8:40 am and I just got two single tickets for two dates in June. I got one on-line and one by phone.

  5. Curt Says:

    I saw the same thing for the May/June permits before 7AM PST. I wondered if they pulled some to release a bit later in the day? Also, the print function doesn’t work for me. The browser dialog box opens and says “printing”, but it doesn’t.

    • mrhalfdome Says:

      Call them to help with this. I’m not printing mine until closer to the date. Anyone else have that problem??

    • Sharon Says:

      I have the same problem as Curt. I’ve tried printing on multiple computers but the same box pops up but nothing prints. Any help on this would be much appreciated. Thank you!

      • mrhalfdome Says:

        I am in touch with the Wilderness Office and they are aware – rec.gov seems to have NOT implemented the process that the park set up. They are working it…don;t worry – we have at least 2 months until we actually need the permits. Give them time to sort it all out.

  6. alison s Says:

    Got mine! Thanks for your tips, very helpful! I’ll keep reading the blog for training/packing tips!

  7. Rick Mengel Says:

    Almost every available date in May and June showed less than 300 permits available, prior to 7am. Some dates as few as 275. It would be interesting to find out the NPS explanation for this. Might you be able to find out the answer for us? Thanks!

  8. Elizabeth Fralicks Says:

    Thanks for updates to all. Looking for passes for June 11 if anyone finds out they can’t go on this date.

  9. Kathy Says:

    Do you have any advice on buying permits on craigslist? What should I look for and how should I go about i

    • mrhalfdome Says:

      The park monitors EBay and Craig’s list….I am NOT affiliated with the NPS, so I’m not the cops. There is nothing wrong with recouping a “fee” of $1.50 but their rules say you cannot sell the permits but can give them away.

  10. Nick Says:

    I called to see why it looked like some permits had been sold early or in July. They said there was bug that let people enter those dates early or into July but it wouldn’t actually book them. They said all 300 permits for each day will be available for July on the next on-sale in April. Also, if you missed out, stay with it next time because it appears that some people release their holds a little bit into the sale – I got 2 permits for June 24th at 18 minutes after. And if you aren’t going to use a permit – you can cancel it and someone else who really wants it can get it instead of those crooks who go on Craigslist and try to make money off of them.

    • mrhalfdome Says:

      Excellent inputs – thanks Nick.

      Apparently people got all the way to BOOK PERMIT and chickened out. Odd. You can continue to hit the site every day -or call – maybe you will ask just when someone voluntarily turns one in. (No refund – so a kind heart.) The park says you can GIVE the permits away but not resell.

  11. Caprice Says:

    I would like to go Saturday June 25, I have permits for Sun June 26. I saw 300 across the board at 6:59, they told me I had to wait until 7, at 7, Saturday was gone when I clicked… but if you think about it, 75 people could get all the permits as they allow for 4 per person…. not that many considering 1000s are trying to go. Sun-Fri moved much slower…and by much slower, I mean minutes, rather than seconds.

  12. Maureen Lahiff Says:

    A great big thanks to Rick, Mr. Half Dome, for all the information about how to go about obtaining permits, and for what you did/do to make it easier for those who need to cancel to hand their permits on to others!

  13. Elizabeth Says:

    Can’t figure out how to print the tickets. Anyone successfully print them out yet?

  14. David S Says:

    i’m having the same problem printing… says it’s printing, but goes off to cyber-graveyard.

    • mrhalfdome Says:

      Mine printed fine… I use Internet Explorer and Gmail…just pulled down PRINT and it came out.. like 5 pages with all the directions, etc. No problem.

      • Elizabeth Says:

        Oh, so there are no tickets to print separately? Just print the confirmation pages?

      • mrhalfdome Says:

        Nope…Last year they mailed us the tickets but it was a hassle and costly, so this year your email is the ticket. Make copies for the number you have going. NO cheating (it has the code number AND the quantity) since the rangers at Checkpoint Chalie have a list of all those with authorized permits for a given date…but you do NOT have to have it in your name. (In case someone gave yo uthe permits.) But everyone in your party MUST have the permit. Once the last person of your party passes with a copy that’s it – no fudging, so don’t lose it. Still a bit screwy but it ain’t my program.

    • Brad Says:

      Hi. Were you able to get the print process to work? I’m having same problem where a window opens and says printing is in progress, but then the window closes and nothing prints nor is a PDF file created (as implied in the email instructions). I’ve tried it on several computers and browser versions with same results.

      • mrhalfdome Says:

        I am in touch with the Wilderness Office and they are aware – rec.gov seems to have NOT implemented the process that the park set up. They are working it…don;t worry – we have at least 2 months until we actually need the permits. Give them time to sort it all out.

      • mrhalfdome Says:

        The NPS knows of the problem and are working with recreation.gov to fix it. No worries..we have over 2 months until the cables go up.

  15. Elizabeth Says:

    btw, thanks for all of your help Rick. Your book and this blog have made it possible for me and my hiking mates to learn to love both Half Dome and hiking.

  16. Dean Says:

    Wow those permits went fast…think I better start reading up on the Clouds Rest hike just in case I miss out on the August dates…

  17. Nick Says:

    Hey – for those of you having trouble printing your permits – the instructions are not the best but here’s what you have to do – you have to sign back in to recreation.gov and find your permit reservation under ‘my account’ – from there you can print your permit – you will need the permit – NOT the confirmation letter and you can print it now or right before you go.

    • Curt Says:

      I sent a note to the NPS asking about the permit “print” function not working and got the following reply. I figure just use your browser function to print your reservation details or print your confirmation email or wait for the mysterious “permit email” mentioned by the NPS…..

      When you applied for your Half Dome Permit, you will receive a confirmation email to your email address and you should be able to print out that email. However, the actual permits have not been sent out yet. We do not know the date that you will receive the permit, but this information will be emailed to you along with the permit as your arrival date gets closer. You will need to bring the permit email with you. I apologize for any inconvenience.

      • mrhalfdome Says:

        Curt,

        Thanks for sharing. This is in direct conflict with what I have told by YNP…. that we would NOT need a separate ticket for 2011. Well, we have about 3 months to get it sorted out. My printer spit out the confirmation nemail just fine.

  18. Nick Says:

    Hey all, I just found this out – some of the agents at rec.gov are totally confused. I guess most other permits have to be picked up in person – or might be sent close to the arrival date and they got those confused with Half Dome. This is NOT the case for Half Dome this year. You will not get tickets in the mail. You MUST go to recreation.gov and sign in under your account and print the permit. Bring the permit – NOT the confirmation – I just verified that! They said most people are able to print thier permits so not sure why people are having trouble there – I printed mine no problem. I’ll keep you posted if I find out anything else.

  19. Elizabeth Says:

    Mine are still not printing, same issue as above, window comes up and says printing is in process, then nothing happens.

  20. Christine Says:

    I called recreation.gov about this. The lady said that people were trying to reserve before 7am and that the system momentarily let them hold their reservation until the system spit it back.

  21. Christine Says:

    Recreation.gov said there is a separate permit (not the confirmation email). The have a technical difficulty with permit printing that they hope to resolve this week.

  22. Elizabeth Says:

    Thx for the info Christine. I’ll check back later.

  23. John Jacobson Says:

    Thanks Mr HG and Hello

    We have a hotel booked and are looking for 5 permits for Fri June 10th. Thanks much. john.j.jacobson@lmco.com

  24. Dan Says:

    Hello,

    I’m looking for 2 permits for any of these dates: July 1st, 2nd or 3rd. Please email me at bmwdkp@yahoo.com if you have any available.

    Thanks,
    Dan

  25. Kathy gray Says:

    Hi any ideas for a hike not in the Yosemite valley? So a mention of a lake with good hiking any ideas ? We are staying outside of groveland

    • mrhalfdome Says:

      Kathy,

      Coming from Groveland, I’d suggest a nice hike around Hetch Hetchy. A huge reservoir..like a lake!! About 30 mins to the west of the 120 entrance. Other nice lakes outside the valley may not be accessible due to snow along the Tioga Road.

      Rick

  26. Richard L Sogg Says:

    I need 2 Cable permits for September 27, 28, or 29.

    Thank you

    rlsogg@yahoo.com

    Richard (the old dude) Sogg

  27. Scott Flanagan Says:

    It was great hiking up to halfdome with you Mr. Halfdome! Lets hike the diving board next and Pat can be the guide…

  28. Nicole Hoepner Says:

    Hi Mr Half Dome,

    I was just given 4 permits out of the blue. The e-mail confirmation has the Recreation. Gov Logo on it, then it lists the generous donor’s first and last name, a reservation number, and the group size (4 ). Now, since he isn’t hiking with us and I don’t have his name, i wonder if the permit is still valid for me to use? Also, if I find 3 extra people to hike with me, do we have to stick together as a group when presenting the permit to the Ranger?

    • mrhalfdome Says:

      Yes, if it;s not counterfeit it’s valid. It has a number and bar code on top right. It is transferable.

      make 3 copies for your group – each needs to have one in his pocket.They can arrive at different times..the first 4 with that permit number are allowed to proceed.

      Rick

  29. Steve Says:

    I am looking for one permit on Aug 15,16,17,or 18th. Please let me know if you have one available. I will be very grateful for this.

    Thank you emailstevef@gmail.com

  30. Robin Smith Says:

    Aloha All;
    I would love to find 2-4 permits for Half Dome for one or more of the following days: September 14, 15, 16, or 17. I’m hoping the cables will still be up then robindsmith@hotmail.com

Leave a comment