August Permits grab

Half Dome – Yosemite Musing

To request, trade or give permits, Click HERE.

** Put your contact info on the request. **

    

     Weeeee Doggie.That was a wild ride this morning at 7 am. I hope yall got your days of choice. I’m probably one of a few who does this great hike more than once a summer so maybe you didn’t have to deal with the rush. I got mine. The system was acting funny. When I clicked BUY the system cycled for over a  minute then finally timed out. Eeck! Then I had to re-login – with precious time ticking off. I guess we overloaded the server. Kinda like the fun we have on EBay purchases. That was a bummer. Luckily, the date I picked still had availability and I got mine.

     Today I got a whole rash of comments from people who now want to trade. I was out Carping some Diem today on a Harley to Monterey, so I will forgo a lengthy blog and get cracking on approving the comments. By the way, if you really want a permit and see someone who wants to trade, CONTACT them directly … don’t do a dialog on the Blog…they may never see your interest. Call or email them and take it “off-line” directly.  And put your contact info in the comment. Readers CANNOT see your email when you post. I may stop doing that for the 30% who don’t. I’ll give a fascinating story of some exciting thing about Yosemite tomorrow.

Unrelated thought worth quoting: Me thinks that the moment my legs begin to move, my thoughts begin to flow.” – Henry David Thoreau

*MrHalfDome – Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

9 Responses to “August Permits grab”

  1. Chris Wright Says:

    I had the same nerve wracking experience. I gave up on one page and opened a second page that let me in. I was very worried that I had lost my chance.

    Otherwise this system is a pain. The idea that you have to resort to getting 20 permits you can’t use for a couple past dates is crazy. Don’t get me wrong, I probably would have tried the same thing. For that matter, I probably would pay money for a permit (not sure if scalping is illegal on behalf of the buyer). I am spending hundreds of dollars on a big trip, cross country, flights, time off work, etc., and a $200 for a half dome permit would only marginally add to the cost.

  2. Dean Says:

    Well looks like fate is sending me on to Clouds Rest…was away camping with no internet so missed Sunday’s ticket scramble.

    Plan now is to hike Clouds Rest from Happy Isles. I’ll get to look down on Half Dome! Early start so no Pizza Deck margaritas for me…

    • Sönke Says:

      What dates in August are you looking for?!

    • Al Says:

      Clouds Rest in August starting from Happy Isles is wrong. The waterfalls are drying up and it is 22 miles 5800 ft elevation gain. There is a shorter and easier way in Sunrise Trail (along Tioga Pass). It’s better to do that and Upper Yosemite Falls the next day.

      • Dean Says:

        Hi Al,

        Thanks for the advice but I’ll have to disagree with you.

        Vernal and Nevada will be flowing quite nicely and I find them most tranquil at that time of year. Personally I find that part of the hike – up to Vernal, up to Nevada and then a gentle stroll along the side of the Merced in Little Yosemite Valley to be nothing short of fantastic, first thing in the morning.

        Also, I’ve read a few folk say the first few miles of the Sunrise Trail can be a bit underwhelming.

        I’d love to do the Upper Yosemite Falls trail – I started it last time but turned back about half way as the valley was full of smoke from the Big Meadow fire. On reflection I’d only do that trail with Yosemite Falls in flow and it will be bone dry in August – without it the trail seems to be missing its X Factor.

        You’re right about it being tougher from Happy Isles but it will be a grand day out.

        Cheers

      • Chris Wright Says:

        This post struck me as funny after reading National Geographic. Clouds Rest via Happy Isles WRONG? I think Half Dome via the Northwest face free solo is WRONG! Alex Honnold is nuts. Have you ever noticed how you never see “old” free soloists? Eventually they make a mistake…

  3. Dean Says:

    Hi Sonke

    I’m looking for the 22nd August as number one date. I’m in the valley 3 days and prefer to get the big hike done first.

    If not, I could also do the 23rd or 24th.

    I’ve posted on the permit thread too.

    Cheers.

  4. Chris Wright Says:

    Dean—if you end up going August 23 I’ll look for you. I am starting at Tenaya Lake, going up Clouds Rest, then to Half Dome, then to the Valley. That is 22 miles but you have a much harder day hike starting in the Valley.

    There is a very nice online report with pictures and schedule of a guy who started a day hike from Happy Isles round trip to Half Dome and Clouds Rest. It is 25 miles and took him 13 1/2 hours. http://www.pbase.com/cloudsrester/cloudsrest_half_dome_in_one_day

    • Dean Says:

      Hi Chris, that is an interesting report…if I was doing both I’d have gone for Half Dome first to be as fresh as possible for the cables.

      I’d then make a judgement on time and the shape I was in before committing to the 8 mile round trip to Clouds Rest…it’s a tough one but I figure if those big wall climbers can do El Cap and Half Dome in a day why not hike 2 peaks?

      I’m not sure what I’ll be doing, depends if I snag a permit. At the moment the plan is Clouds Rest on the 22nd.

      Cheers

Leave a Reply

