You take all that?

Half Dome – Yosemite Musing

     When I give talks I love to offer my suggestions for stuff to bring on the Half Dome hike. After 28 times I have bottomed out on the optimum. I try to make it clear that I only can give my recommendations – you decide what works for you. For example, I really don’t like backpacks for this hike. My back gets too sweaty and any weight will cause my lower back to ache later in the day. I love fanny packs….they keep the weight at my center of gravity and my upper torso free as a bird. So here ya go: Here’s the RangerRick (not really a Ranger) Half Dome kit. Click to make HUGE.

     And it all fits into my fanny pack. From grub, to water filter pump to my flashlight. And I have an expanded checklist that I print out and go thru both at home and before I begin the hike.

    Snows may hit sea level in Silicon Valley. If 2500 ft Mission Peak is white Friday am I may drive up with my winter garb and try to get some pix. Brrrrr-i-to. Anyone else game? Come on, it’s Friday and I’ll write you a note!

FLASH – The Park will be having Spring workshops on the Merced River Plan and . . . are you sitting?) they will be using a WEBINAR for us flatlanders to participate. More on that tomorrow!! 

Unrelated thought worth quoting: How hard to realize that every camp of men or beast has this glorious starry firmament for a roof!  In such places standing alone on the mountain-top it is easy to realize that whatever special nests we make – leaves and moss like the marmots and birds, or tents or piled stone – we all dwell in a house of one room – the world with the firmament for its roof – and are sailing the celestial spaces without leaving any track.” – John Muir

*MrHalfDome – Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

2 Responses to “You take all that?”

  1. Maureen Lahiff Says:

    thanks!

    it would be nice to see the checklist! (or is it in the archive from last summer?)

    I can’t tell from photo, but is sunscreen and lip balm with sunscreen on your list?

    • mrhalfdome Says:

      I lather up before the hike, then use an SPF 15 tube of Chapstick to re-hit nose and face on the hike…..

      My checklist is a RickyD special unique to me for my stuff…like a glasses strap, outlet splitter, Park entrance pass. I can PM it to you if you really want to see it. Don’t blush!

Leave a Reply

