Book it

 Half Dome – Yosemite Musing
Get or Give Half Dome permits<HERE>

    Hear me now and listen to me later. NOW is the time to get accommodations for your 2011 Half Dome expedition. Really. You can book non-camping beds a year and a day in advance.  So I just booked a Curry Village Tent cabin for May 21. I’m giving a talk at the LeConte Lodge on May 22 – and I don’t even have a 2011 calendar. But I know how tight things can get. I have no idea if the cables will be up that early so this is a gamble. But I can always do another hike – like to the Diving Board.  Plus I have no idea what the permit system will be for 2011. I predict we will need one every day based on the Mon & Thurs crowds this  summer.  Anyway, if you are going anytime before Aug 29, 2011, get on the horn NOW. 801-559-5000 or thru the WorldWideWeb <HERE>.

    We also have a Press Release out on my one-hour Half Dome presentation. It’s great if you just cannot make one of my talks. Go to http://bit.ly/bnb3ca  It got a good review on TMCnet. Click <HERE>.

    Anyone want to join me for a hike on this Tuesday or Wednesday? If you are retired, laid off or a night worker, at 9 am Tuesday August 31,  I’ll be doing St. Joseph’s Hill in Los Gatos (meet at the water fountain on Main St  – Hwy 17 overpass near trailhead) -or- Wednesday 7 am meet at the Ohlone Deli (43625 Mission Boulevard, Fremont) to do Mission Peak. If you are working, I’ll write you an excuse note. I go alone if no one shows. We’ll share ribald stories and then dine after. 

    In other news, if you are a fan of Death Valley, the restaurant at Stovepipe Wells had a bad fire in the kitchen last Thursday. The building suffered extensive structural damage but seems salvageable. Too bad. They had some good grub there. Death Valley is a superb fall trip. It was 117 when I was there in June.

     A tip of the hat to John L for sending this photo of a black bear in Little Yosemite Valley. Yikes! Those hungry furry omnivores are out there looking for you!!

 

Unrelated thought worth quoting: “Rescue me, take me in your arms. Rescue me I want your tender charm. ‘Cause I’m lonely and I’m blue. I need you and your love, too. Come on and rescue me.” – Fontella Bass

*Mr. Half Dome – Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

Leave a Reply

