The Bear Facts

Half Dome – Yosemite Musing

Get or Give permits<HERE>

Sunday night we camped at Little Yosemite Valley after a long day trucking up 40 pound packs. Eat din din and hit the sack. I jam in earplugs since I know no one has ever been killed by a bear at the park and I really don’t care to wake up to to see one up close. One of my party gets up at 6 am and finds his pack was lifted by a bear. He heard something about 2 am and this confirmed it. He said he had loose beef jerky in the pack,during the day. The bear obviously smelled the rank stuff and grabbed a midnight snack. He tells me the bear took the backpack across the water (the Merced is right there) and he went and got it. I think – ‘”his guy is nuts – wading across the Merced for 20 yards just to get a pack.”  I asked how deep the water was and he said it came up to his calves. I’m thinking – dang, one slip or one step in a hole and he lands in 43-degree water and down he goes – taking that 600 foot slide down Nevada Fall.  Later that day, I was told, no – he did not have a death wish by crossing the Merced, but rather he merely crossed the little stream near the Ranger station nearby. Communication. Whew.

Unrelated thought worth quoting: “I am glad that the world does not miss me and that all of my days with the Lord and his works are uncounted and unmeasured.” – John Muir, 1869

*Mr. Half Dome – Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

Leave a Reply

