Scouting 100th Recap

Half Dome – Yosemite Musing
     Last weekend was the NorCal Boy Scout celebration of their 100th year. I gave a Half Dome presentation to over 200 pairs of ears. My room was right next to the Guitar Hero competition. It drew a lot of folks to my talk – and they turned it down.  It was a fun day.  Nearly 18,000 people were in attendance. There were tents everywhere at the Pleasanton Fairgrounds.

I go to the Fairgrounds a lot to see car shows and this was as big. It was a seamless undertaking. I could see no glitches. I heard they had a $2M budget. This was the only massive Jamboree anywhere outside of the national one held in Virginia. A tip of the hat to the organizers. I was never a scout (I was in Civil Air Patrol as a youth) but I admire their ability to teach young men about self reliance and confidence to get by in the world. In these stressful times it was good to see so many having a jim-dandy good time. Carpe Diem boys!! Carpe Diem. Be prepared!!!
    I’ll be at Yosemite on Saturday giving never-been relatives a one day quickee. Holler if you will be there.
Unrelated thought worth quoting: “Little darling, it’s been a long cold lonely winter. Little darling, it feels like years since it’s been here. Here comes the sun, here comes the sun and I say it’s all right.” – The Beatles
*Mr. Half Dome – Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

Leave a Reply

