A Glorious Weekend

Half  Dome – Yosemite Musing

No heavy discussion today. Just a thanksgiving for the superb weekend we had in NorCal.(Sorry if you are living elsewhere.)  I mean blue skies and temps pushing up towards 70. I grew up in the Washington, DC area and could not stand the winters. (Summer humidity was no charmer either.) I commuted to the U of Maryland and got awful tired of the windshield scrapping and snow chains. I have no sympathy for those folks. Gee, 15-minutes coverage on the national news for snow! Yawn. So I am out here in paradise. Saturday I was over at Half Moon Bay. The HUGE Mavericks Surf contest was going on. 50,000 estimated gawkers so I did not attempt to park and get out to the beach. A gaggle of spectators were bowled over by a high-tide wave. Guess that’s what waves are supposed to do. We headed down for lunch in Capitola – it was jammed. No parking spots. Almost hot weather! Sunday was a mirror image day and I took Yosey, the Wonderdog on a 2-hour hike above Los Gatos. In shorts. Take that DC!  Where’s your Global Warming now?  The little guy did great, but I carried him up the steeps.

A free ride

 Yall enjoy President’s Day and I’ll see you on the flip side. When I was a kid they had monster sales on George Washington’s Birthday – I mean like TV’s for $25, Fridges to the fist 5 people for $40. Today we just get fake sales. Yeah, things are FOR SALE not ON SALE. 

Unrelated thought worth quoting: “In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks.” – John Muir 

*Mr. Half Dome – Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

Leave a Reply

