Product Review – Water filter

Half Dome – Yosemite Musing

I am a major fan of hydration. It is not uncommon for me to drink 6 glasses of something at a meal. Usually iced tea, but sometimes a diet cola.  On the Half Dome hike I down 7 quarts all day. Carrying that amount is absurd. At 2 lbs per quart, it would kill my back. Plus, the water would get hot from body heat and the ambient air. So I filter mine. I have a Katadyne Pro-Hiker model pump. I have used others in the past and after a fair life, they died. So I am not here to bad mouth competition – it’s just that I have the Pro-Hiker now. I like it. It’s small at 11 ounces and measures just 6 ½ inches long with a 3” barrel. It comes with a quick disconnect system to keep the 3 ft hose under control. A large macro-filter keeps wandering submarines out. It sports an activated carbon core inside to remove any odd tastes. It takes me about a minute to pump a quart. The key is the internal pleated 3-micron micro filter cartridge. It easily grabs the 2 big bad guys: Giardia and Cryptosporidium. Also any sediment, cysts and bacteria.  It comes in a nice pouch that easily fits into my fanny pack.  This filter –like most – is good for about 300 gallons of use. Like forever!  It also comes with a connector for you Camelback users.  When I get home I fill a gallon milk jug with water and 2 tablespoons of bleach then pump that through to sanitize things. Open it all up then let it air dry. Bingo – ready for the next adventure.  (Oh, when using it, keep a baggie handy to carry the “clean end” in  to keep  the “bad end” from contaminating it.)
Unrelated thought worth quoting: “Down by the river, down by the banks of the river Charles. That’s where you’ll find me, along with lovers, muggers, and thieves (aw, but they’re cool people). Well I love that dirty water – Oh, Boston, you’re my home.” – The Standells
*Mr. Half Dome – Rick Deutschwww.HikeHalfDome.com

Leave a Reply

