South side of Half Dome

Half Dome – Yosemite Musing

May9.06 063

As you progress through Little Yosemite Valley, on your Half Dome hike, look to your left and you begin to see the Dome peeking out. It kinda looks like 2 tan camel humps above the trees. The only folks I’ve heard who approach it from that side are the guys doing the annual trash pickup sponsored by the climbing group. It’s advised to wear a helmet as you never know what will drop from above. There are a lot of water bottles and cameras down there. I have never seen anyone wall climbing on this side. I believe there is one published route up.

Unrelated thought worth quoting: “Take me out to the ball game, Take me out with the crowd. Buy me some peanuts and cracker jack, I don’t care if I never get back, Let me root, root, root for the home team, If they don’t win it’s a shame. For it’s one, two, three strikes, you’re out, At the old ball game.” – 1908 Rabble Rouser

*Mr. Half Dome – Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

Leave a Reply

