The Glacier Point Road Saga

Half Dome – Yosemite Musing

When I drove up to Glacier Pt in August the road was the pits. Literally. Big holes and loose gravel. Now word is that construction will be extended through Saturday November 7 to complete paving. Work will go on every day except Sundays. Plan on 30-minute delay between 10:00 AM and 7:00 PM each day. Traffic will be released on the hour and 1/2 hour during these paving operations. There is a sign that the project is funded by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act and includes rehabilitation, restoration, resurfacing, and repaving of 5 miles of the roadway. Is that the “Stimulus” money? I can’t imagine how many unemployed software engineers that they hired, but I’m sure mother government will take care of us.

Unrelated thought worth quoting: “Seems I’ve got to have a change of scene, ‘cause every night I have the strangest dreams. Imprisoned by the way it could have been, left here on my own or so it seems. I’ve got to leave before I start to scream, But someone locked the door and took the key. You feelin’ alright.” – Cry me a river, Joe Cocker

 *Mr. Half Dome – Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

Leave a Reply

