1 pole or 2?

Half Dome – Yosemite Musing
Continuing the discussion on Trekking poles. I have heard them also called Hiking Poles or Walking Sticks. I don’t really know the precise definition of “trekking” vs hiking or walking. But I guess STAR TREK is a better name than STAR WALK. Whatever works – it’s all the same. Some folks ask if one pole is just as good as 2. Well, no. If you are walking like Moses through the desert you are at a disadvantage with just 1. I will  grant you that 1 pole is better than none. But why would you want to carry a long shaft that might weigh 3 pounds? I often see “wilderness” folks carrying a tree branch as their walking aid. I want to be as light as I can and go minimalist. 1 pole causes your body to torque with each step. You tend to favor one side as you sashay down the trail. When you use 2 proper hiking poles, your body is symmetric which results in an easier time of it. You also get the best push off as explained a few days ago. Trekking poles are only sold in pairs anyway. The shafts are identical but the grips (straps) are left & right. Look at your straps. On LEKI’s there is a little ® or (l). At first I thought the ® meant registered trademark. I learned. So I now put a piece of red tape on my right pole (red is right). This makes for quick starts. I saw this woman at the Glacier Point snack bar.

CIMG8727

What a hoot. A walking staff with a tiny tennis shoe on it. I love this kind of humor.
Unrelated thought worth quoting: “Tin soldiers and Nixon’s comin’. We’re finally on our own. This summer I hear the drummin.Four dead in Ohio.” – Crosby, Stills, Nash (and Young)
*Mr. Half Dome -Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

Leave a Reply

