Say something

Half Dome – Yosemite Musing

CIMG3202
Today I rant. I find as I get older, I no longer hesitate to say what I feel. When I am at Yosemite and see inane things done by my fellow humanoids I now let them have it.  I haven’t gotten punched yet but sometimes I feel like the 1976 movie “Network”: “I’m mad as hell, and I’m not going to take it anymore.”  #1 – People who cross-cut trails. #2 – People who “drop” their trash on the trail.  #3 – People who ”potty” behind rocks and leave behind toilet paper. I know this is preaching to the choir, but if we all just say something to the droids maybe things will improve. The way I look at it, Yosemite is MY park and I don’t want the place trashed. If we make some clown feel bad, maybe it may have an effect. I got jazzed after I yelled at some bozo trail cutters who set loose some rocks to roll downward on the JMT switchbacks and another hiker joined in the chorus calling them “jerks.”  Ahhh, I feel better.
Unrelated thought worth quoting: “You’ve got to change your evil ways… baby. Before I stop loving you. You’ve go to change… baby. And every word that I say, it’s true. You’ve got me running and hiding – All over town.” – SANTANA
*Mr. Half Dome -Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

Leave a Reply

