Boy Scout Troop 948-998 Makes it

Half Dome – Yosemite Musing
Boy Scouts to Phtoshop

Boy Scouts Troop 948-998 HAT 1a

I’m happy to report that Boy Scout troop T948-998 High Adventure Team summited Yosemite’s massive 8,842 foot granite block, Half Dome, on June 23. The boy’s hail from Football coaching legend John Madden’s hometown of Pleasanton, CA. A month ago I gave them my 35 cent presentation in exchange for a few slices of pizza. They had Half Dome as a troop goal and were focused on safely completing the hike. But they are not done. In August the will be doing a 75-mile trek in the Philmont/Cimarron area of New Mexico. Half Dome was just a warm up!  I asked the boys to help me with some number hunting. They reported back that the lower Mist Trail has 680 +/- 3 steps. The variance is due to various people’s definition of what constitutes a step. They used the rule that a “step” must be a vertical rise of more than 3″. They were close to my tally of 700. Next I asked them to count the number of pole-pairs on the cable route. I always get distracted but made a wild-guess at 70. Now we know exactly – it’s 68. A tip of the hat and thanks to Boy Scout troop T948-998 – America’s finest.
Unrelated thought worth quoting: “I found my thrill on Blueberry Hill. On Blueberry Hill where I found you. The moon stood still on Blueberry Hill and lingered till my dreams came true.” – Fats Domino
*Mr. Half Dome -Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

Leave a Reply

