Death Wish

Half Dome – Yosemite Musing

This sight is unbelievable. Pure insanity. When I give talks I tell folks that they will see all kinds of unsafe things done by our fellow passengers on the Third Stone from the Sun. This one floored me. On June 19 I did the Half Dome hike. A bright sunny day and a great time. My brother came with me – he did my first hike with me in 1990. We were slow. About 1:30 pm I came down the cables and looked out to the southwest at the area below the saddle and between the cables and Sub Dome. Holy Toledo! Is that a person going down the slope? It must be 60-degrees there. This is the same area where people tend to fall with tragic results. The death in 2007 and in June ended here. The woman who survived a fall also came down here. What you see is a woman who was scooching down on her buttocks – DOWN. Why? Her friend nearby told me her buddy dropped her GPS and was going down to get it. No kidding. A $200 GPS is worth a life? I thought I would be recording yet another disaster. She made it back up with her toy. Crazy Daddy-O.  

CIMG8890CIMG8887CIMG8891

Unrelated thought worth quoting: “Remember when you were young, you shone like the sun. Shine on you crazy diamond. Now there’s a look in your eyes, like black holes in the sky. Shine on you crazy diamond.” – Pink Floyd

*Mr. Half Dome -Rick Deutsch – www.HikeHalfDome.com

Leave a Reply

